Under Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot, the delete feature for the context menu (right-click menu) is disabled by default. In this tip we will help you enable it using simple steps. If enabled, the delete command will delete data from your hard drive permanently. It means that deleted data won't be recovered anymore, so be warned before using this command.

Gettings Started

1. Under Ubuntu 11.10, open any nautilus folder and head to Edit > Preferences.

2. Select the Behavior tab and then check on "Include a Delete command that bypasses Trash".

3. Close the window and right-click now on any file or folder to test the delete command, but be careful when deleting this way because deleted items will bypass Trash and cannot be recovered.

That's it!

Post a Comment